Allens

Real Estate

Accelerating build-to-rent in Australia

Accelerating build-to-rent in Australia

Accelerating build-to-rent
in Australia report

The build-to-rent model continues to gain pace in Australia as several projects prove the local viability of this asset class.

Building on this momentum requires developers and institutional investors to develop a keen understanding of the intricacies of this emerging asset class. Our Accelerating build-to-rent in Australia report outlines some of the key issues relating to tax, funding structures and solutions required for delivery.

Project Development Roadmap

Please hover your mouse over or tap on a section to view more details.

Due Diligence: We manage legal due diligence investigations for large and complex property acquisitions. Allens has been widely recognised as a leader in due diligence innovation, we have received awards for our due diligence REDDA technology.

Structuring and Tax: Allens frequently provides structuring and tax advice to developers and assists in the establishment of Managed Investment Trusts and other ownership vehicles. We understand how the decisions made at this stage can have a big impact on the developer’s feasibility and ongoing ownership costs for the property and regularly assist developers to implement the best strategy.

Acquisition: It is important for the results of the legal due diligence to be fed in to the acquisition negotiation process, so that any key risks identified during due diligence are appropriately addressed and mitigated.

Planning: Our national planning team is integrated with our property team, and our approach is property centric. Our clients include developers focused on retail, industrial, aged care, mixed use, residential and student accommodation.

Pre-commitment and pre-sales: Allens has acted on some of the most high profile tenancy pre‑commitment deals in recent years on both the landlord and tenant side.

Funding: Allens frequently advises on the use of the fund through model and has assisted to structure some of the largest fund through deals in Australia.

Construction: Our construction team has considerable experience in negotiating construction contracts for major development projects, and works closely with our development team to ensure that all relevant obligations and liabilities are properly passed through to the builder.

Our team

With a uniquely holistic approach to structuring and delivering development projects, the Allens team keeps critical interdependencies front of mind – from start to finish. Our clients have told us that, because of this interconnectedness, Allens' multidisciplinary team managing the entire process delivers the most value for them.

Jillian Button

Jillian Button

Partner
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8557
Jillian.Button@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Liam Chambers

Liam Chambers

Partner
Brisbane +61 7 3334 3170
Liam.Chambers@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Tim Chislett

Tim Chislett

Managing Associate
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8190
Tim.Chislett@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

David Donnelly

David Donnelly

Partner, Sector Leader, Infrastructure & Transport
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8112
David.Donnelly@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Michael Graves

Michael Graves

Partner
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8814
Michael.Graves@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Victoria Holthouse

Victoria Holthouse

Partner
Sydney +61 2 9230 4303
Victoria.Holthouse@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Eve Lynch

Eve Lynch

Partner
Perth +61 8 9488 3911
Eve.Lynch@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Bill McCredie

Bill McCredie

Partner
Brisbane +61 7 3334 3049
Bill.McCredie@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Stuart McCulloch

Stuart McCulloch

Partner
Sydney +61 2 9230 4420
Stuart.McCulloch@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

David McLeish

David McLeish

Partner
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8954
David.McLeish@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Rosanne Meurling

Rosanne Meurling

Special Counsel
Brisbane +61 7 3334 3517
Rosanne.Meurling@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Craig Milner

Craig Milner

Partner
Sydney +61 2 9230 4063
Craig.Milner@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Penny Nikoloudis

Penny Nikoloudis

Partner
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8816
Penny.Nikoloudis@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Nigel Papi

Nigel Papi

Partner
Sydney +61 2 9230 5179
Nigel.Papi@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Alexandra Peace

Alexandra Peace

Partner
Sydney +61 2 9230 4000
Alexandra.Peace@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Felicity Rourke

Felicity Rourke

Partner
Sydney +61 2 9230 4366
Felicity.Rourke@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Geoff Sanders

Geoff Sanders

Partner
Melbourne +61 3 9613 8673
Geoff.Sanders@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Kate Towey

Kate Towey

Partner, Sector Leader, Real Estate
Sydney +61 2 9230 5053
Kate.Towey@allens.com.au

Add to Outlook

View CV

Propelling City Growth

Watch our commentary on key themes and challenges facing infrastructure investments in Australia.